Once in a Lifetime

100 Words of Speculation written over a background of fountain pen and printed text

“Please. My Lizzie’s dying.” Despite the stench, I kneel.

Air oozes past the witch’s teeth. “I’ll grant healer’s touch. But there’s a price. You can only use it once.”

Pain infests my hands. Fingers clasped, I race home.

Can’t risk wasting it on the wonky door. The hinges give on the second kick.

Tumbling forward, I stretch my arms out. My chin strikes the bed-frame, but my palms land on Lizzie.

Summer sun fills the hut and music swirls around.

As they fade, so do her blotches.

When the Duke demands I cure his daughter, I understand the price.

Share Your Thoughts

