Sibling of the World

Debbie Manber Kupfer has nominated me for the Sibling of the World Award. While it is more a focused-getting-to-know someone affair than an actual award, I aspire to a sense of ethical siblinghood with humanity. So, I’ll happily identify as a Sibling of the World. Whether my answers advance that aim is for others to judge.

The rules, as taken from Debbie’s post, are:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to their blog in your post;

  2. Answer the questions that the blogger who nominated you has provided;

  3. Nominate ten other bloggers (or up to 10);

  4. Create ten questions for your nominees and notify them of their nominations.

Clearly, I’m flattered Debbie thought my answers would be interesting enough that she tagged me. So, thanks for that.

Her questions are:

  1. Describe yourself in one sentence. A curious, nuanced, Davist who uses even their own name as a limited label to represent something more complex than can accurately be conveyed by any languages I am aware of.

  2. What are you reading? Avoiding the trite answer of ‘This list of questions’, I finished Julie Post’s Empty Altars last night and read news articles over breakfast, so will be in the gap between books until lunchtime.

  3. What are you writing? The final version of Greenstar Season 3, the third volume in the comic space opera I co-author with Simon Cantan; Part Forty-Four of Seven Stones, my weekly swords-and-sorcery serial; and the third draft of Beauty in a Take Away Cup, an urban fantasy novel.

  4. If you could meet anyone living or dead who would you choose? I’ve already met my wife, so I choose not to choose. The people I might admire for something they’ve done aren’t defined by it, so meeting them via some wish would probably result in disappointment for one of us as we are more likely than not to not be very compatible. And the set of people I don’t know about who would most benefit, or benefit me, will change as life experiences change me.

  5. Favourite band or music genre. Mood and such influence the songs I wish to listen to at any point enough that I don’t have a favourite band. Goth probably takes favourite genre by a hair, but I have broad and eclectic tastes.

  6. Ninjas or pirates? Depends on context. In the real world, ninjas are a subset of assassins and pirates are brutal thieves, so I view the focused purpose of ninjas as less inappropriate than the indiscriminate anti-social activities of pirates. In pure fantasy, pirates are more flamboyant but both offer the opportunity for anti-heroes and redemption quests, so it’s level pegging. However, I am currently involved in a 7th Sea Live Action Roleplay, so am more likely to associate with people pretending to be pirates than those pretending to be ninjas.

  7. If you were a shape-shifter, what would your form be? The seers, shamans, and priests of any tradition who have commented all say my spirit animal is a bear; so, that seems the most likely from the classic options.

  8. Favourite way to relax. Reading a book with a mug of fresh-ground coffee to hand while one or both of the cats who live with me curl up on my lap.

  9. Ever done NaNoWriMo? I’ve done it twice. The first time I won with time to spare. The second time I realised about a fortnight in that my productivity for the month was lower following the rules than it had been for previous months, so I gave up.

  10. Favourite season and why? A dash of pepper. My favourite broad category of cuisine is Asian, but almost all varieties come ready seasoned to be eaten as is. Whereas traditional English and Italian recipes are based on the expectation the recipient might season again at the table, so tend to err on the less peppery side. Conversely, I prefer much less salt than the average English person, so on the rare occasions I go to a chip shop I ask for no salt.

As I don’t want to embarrass anyone into doing anything the wouldn’t do anyway, I choose to nominate zero bloggers, zero being up to ten.

Which makes creation and notification really quick and easy. To balance that out, I’ll ask an abstruse question below.

If we accept the thesis that reality is 11-dimensional but that the majority of those dimensions are folded in such a way that we cannot experience them, what tests can we use to distinguish between a true cube and an occulted tesseract?

Share Your Thoughts

