Speaking in Hollow Voices

As my wife will testify, I love the shape and taste of words as well as the nuances of meaning. So I grok this excellent talk by Stephen Burt. Watching the talk this morning inspired me to make today’s post about my favourite poem: TS Eliot’s The Hollow Men

The lawyer, the excellent debater, in me started considering points of critique and amusing references.

But poetry isn’t just structure. Poetry lives in the speaking.

So, instead of finding a copy to link to and telling you why I like it, I decided to read it to camera.

If you want to know why I like it, treat my recitation as a poem in itself.

What are your favourite poems? Do you prefer reading poetry aloud or in your head?

Share Your Thoughts

