Malign Suggestiveness

Over the years, I have noted down a great many quotes for various reasons. I was going through one of my tech notebooks on Evernote this morning, and found this quote misfiled:

“Change the changeable, accept the unchangeable, and remove yourself from the unacceptable. ”

When I noted it down, I had attributed it to Denis Wheatley. Which now didn’t look right.

And of course it isn’t. Mr Wheatley’s first name is spelt Dennis.

What interested me about the note was I immediately spotted the unusual spelling of Dennis, but it didn’t occur to me until later today that it was an odd statement for Dennis Wheatley to have made. Although he was one of the best-selling writers of the first half of the Twentieth Century, and produced a wide range of works, it doesn’t fit with either espionage or Satanism.

There could be many reasons why it didn’t fit: the simplest being, Wheatley was not merely the sum of his genre. However, in this instance the reason is that he did not say it; the quote is actually from Denis Waitley, a motivational speaker.

Which raises the question: did I glitch while writing down his name, or did I have an idea about the juxtaposition and assume I would remember it without an explanation?

Either way, I am now fighting off the desire to write a story about a motivational speaker discovering a cabal of Satanists.

Or, because the evidence lurks just below the surface, a tale about the finding of strength in being descended from the ‘Umr at-Tawil

2 thoughts on “Malign Suggestiveness

    1. They might have done it in some other series too. Selling your soul for material success is certainly an enduring trope.

      Which was why I thought of doing it the other way around: the external validation of a millennia-old metaphysical system against the internal validation of self-acceptance.

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

