The Beginning is a Very Delicate Time.

I created this WordPress account a few short minutes ago (more technically a few minutes before starting to write this post). I ran through the basic wizard to activate it and moved on to a brief review of the various settings while I mulled on the possible contents of my first post. I was startled to discover that I had already written my first post, and that it already had a comment.

As with everyone who has ever tried to write, this immediately raises the dream of technology finally taking away the tedious and painful tasks as it has done for other jobs: in this case, writing that elusive first draft. So, marvelling at the power of modern blogging technology, I read my first post..

I did not actually write it, so I have replaced it with this one to make the blog more authentically Dave; however, for those of you who have not started a WordPress blog, or do not remember the automated first post I quote it, and the original comment below:

Hello World!

Welcome to WordPress.com! This is your very first post. Click the Edit link to modify or delete it, or start a new post. If you like, use this post to tell readers why you started this blog and what you plan to do with it.

Happy blogging!

My immediate thought was that it contained more exclamation marks than I use in the average day; potentially more per line than I would use in a description of a teenager refusing to surrender a megaphone to their parents.

Almost on the tail of that thought was an ambivalence over the more instructional nature of the content: on the one hand, there is a tutorial that tells new users how to use their blog so creating a post in my name seems invasive; on the other, a less technologically literate poster would gain greater benefit from a gentle introduction to editing and another pointer to the new post page than I feel dis-benefit.

Mr WordPress · SEPTEMBER 10, 2012 at 10:27 am

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Interestingly – or not, depending on your perspective – while the content of the comment is another mini-tutorial, the name of the poster did not link to another account. It linked to a précis of my own blog. So there is a little trap built into the helpful data.

Of course the invasive post did cause me to post, as I have now written a starting post immediately after starting, instead of in a few days time after I crystallised my thoughts into a form I could bear to share with the readers I did not yet have. It even tells you, future reader, a little about me and what I might do with a blog. However, you are much more likely to have read this post having read a more recent post and decided to read the rest, so you might well know what I do better than I do at this point.

EDIT: I am amused to note that the automated proofreader takes exception to several of the words and phrases in the automated first post and comment.

Share Your Thoughts

